garden and personality

The concept of raised beds is solid and brilliant. A place set apart, where the soil is never compacted by foot traffic, and where nutritional amendments are all directly used by the crops planted there.

I made raised beds some years back. And then decided I needed to relocate the garden.

Oh well. I needed lumber for other projects anyway.

That’s the thing. You can’t change your mind with raised beds. And deep down, I love changing my mind.

Part of the appeal of raised bed gardening is the promise of a neat, tidy package. Permanence. But the force of inertia will most likely join your personality with the stye of gardening that you eventually end up using.

I’m not especially neat and mathematical. Neither is my garden. But it suits me and makes me happy.IMG_3495

Leave a Reply

