that’s bananas

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/404/79035612/files/2015/01/img_2234.jpg

I know, what an image to start the new year. It has virtually nothing to do with vegetables or soil or worms. Just a gross old hand with a gross new wound.

The reason it’s there is bananas. Literally.

A week ago while I was making my traditional kielbasa with red cabbage for Christmas Eve, I reached into the oven, and the potholder wasn’t covering that part of my hand. Talk about ouch.

Now normally this kind of burn would end up with a week-long bulging blister that eventually bursts, then another week of pain and bandages while that healed. But this time I reached for my new obsession, banana peels, as well as some vinegar. I diligently rubbed and doused frequently for the next day or two.

The blister formed briefly, but never burst. It formed a sort of hard protective callous that’s not painful at all a week later.

In the past I’ve had really good success getting rid of poison ivy and its itch by rubbing banana peels on the affected areas. It works. Try it.

I love banana peels and I love vinegar.

That’s my gardening story for January 1, 2015

6 thoughts on “that’s bananas

  1. That’s real interesting. Another thing about Banana peels, they are one of the main ingredients it says in a whole range of body skin treatments (soap, shampoo, ointment, cream) for people with Psoriasis, a very difficult to treat skin disease. The stuff really works.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sounds like a heck of a remedy, something my grandmother would use and she always knew the best things to do for anything that hurt or ached, or was otherwise a nuisance. I’d rather just not burn myself of course, but the next time I do I think I’ll just have to give it a try.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

