experimenting in the garden

This Post Rated Pee-G 13
Contains mild references to gardening with urine.

A while back I decided that, in my gardening life, I’d been figuratively whacking the same moles and missing. Time for better record-keeping. And time for experimenting with things that either A) sounded promising or B) sounded interesting.

There are some problems with experimenting in the garden though. You need control plants, plants that you don’t help out, and that’s really hard for me. And to get decent results, you need to plant multiples of the same varieties. With tomatoes, that means less fun choosing new seed varieties in the boring winter months, also hard for me.

Last season things started out well; lots of tomato experiment ideas with lots of different home remedy type substances. Pet fur, dead fish, Epsom salts, coffee grounds, banana peels, eggshells, peat moss, and blah blah blah. In the end, almost everything turned out great.

I mean, that’s nice and all, but did it prove anything? I don’t think so. Nothing sucked. You need something to suck if you’re experimenting, just like you need black to understand white.

The one experiment with a glimmer of hope was done on two Cherokee Purple tomatoes.

Cherokee Purples
The plant on the left was allowed to do its thing, sacrificed for the good of the many. The plant on the right was fertilized with about 2 Tablespoons of wood ash mixed into a 20:1 dilution of water and (uh-oh, here it comes) urine, once every two weeks.

Talking about using urine in a vegetable garden is similar to talking about politics at the Thanksgiving table. I’ve tried it on gardening forums, and I could feel the icy stares of some of of the responders through the cable to my modem. So I won’t really go into it. The tomatoes were good and no one in the family kicked the bucket. Promising.

Still, it might have been that the plant on the left was stunted or malnourished from the start. One result is hardly scientific rigor. I’ll be ‘self-watering’ another set of plants this year. If things turn out similarly, I might say hmmm.

And I’ll ask my wife to post an obit for you if something goes horribly wrong. Course it might be her that does the deed if she finds out how I’ve been growing some of those tomatoes.

[Human Pee With Ash Is a Natural Fertilizer, Study Says]

9 thoughts on “experimenting in the garden

Leave a Reply

