February

In February, when our water pipes were frozen solid, it seemed impossibly far away; warm, sunny days, chickens clucking over fresh scraps, the buzz of mosquitoes…

The older you get, the faster it goes. Almost the entire garden is planted. Onions, garlic, spinach, lettuce, broccoli, cauliflower, cabbage, kohlrabi, snow peas, cucumbers, beans, potatoes, peppers, tomatoes, zucchini, watermelon and corn.

The only large unplanted area is what’s left for succession crops of sweet corn. No more 40° nights in the ten day forecast, and although it’s possible later, that would just be a freak of nature arranged to annoy me.

And back to that frozen February. This year I started a single red pepper plant on February 8th for the specific purpose of finding out whether pruning peppers leads to better plants and harvests.

This is the one.  King of the North…

IMG_4708

I pruned it twice while indoors, and again right after it was planted. I also pruned half of the other eight peppers that I planted out yesterday. From what many others have said, pruning peppers works and works well, so I don’t have (too many) reservations about jumping in.

But I’m reminding myself that big risks can work two ways.

11 thoughts on “February

  1. I put peppers in yesterday and most of them are really small except a couple I purchased. I may try pruning those or my own once they recover from transplanting and put on a growth spurt.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hey Dan they can work two ways indeed. You should see my chilli plants .. tumbling everywhere – I should have pruned them to start with. In staying that, perhaps not, they are always slow starters! Gosh interesting that you would plant brassicas at this time of year – they are a winter crop for me. In fact, they went into the dirt in the weekend! Wish I could say they are looking happy .. LOL

    Like

    • Julie, you’re right that the brassicas are a cool weather type crop (and it’s kind of awesome the that we’re growing the same thing with our very different growing seasons!).

      But they work great here if I plant them early enough to be a decent size before the real heat comes, especially with a good mulch. Last year was the first time I can remember that my broccoli gave teeny little baby heads. Not sure why. They made up for it with side shoots though.

      I guess when your pepper plants are so big they fall over, it means you’ve done your job 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

