the pond

As a change of pace (not that daily updates of how much my zucchini plant has grown isn’t interesting) I figured maybe write about something kind of related, but not really.

In 2003 we were looking for a way to enjoy a field at the back of our property, a couple of acres that we rented to a farmer who was growing corn. I had lusted after having a pond, but the price ($10-20,000) to have one dug seemed well…a lot.

Then we heard from a friend that a gravel company was excavating sand at a neighbor’s place. I called the neighbor, who gave me a contact. It turned out that the company agreed to dig us a finished pond in exchange for the almost pure sand that sat under our field.

It was a trip watching the dig; a 20-foot high mountain of sand that my girls enjoyed climbing immensely for a short time. When the digging was done, the contractor smoothed down the edges and left us with a twelve foot deep, 1/3 acre hole.

It took a while to fill, and that was worrisome. But fill it did. I stocked it with sunfish and bass, and planted 30-ish 6′ evergreens around the edge. Each tree hole was dug by hand and was 3′ deep and wide. Phew. But the trees have turned out beautifully. Most of them are Concolour firs with awesome, soft, medium-length needles.

IMG_4744

Near the swimming beach I put up a semi-pre-fab cabin. It’s still a great place for a game of solitaire in a snowstorm with the propane heater running, and of course it makes a perfect drying-off area.

IMG_4742

We decided that the swimming end would be well-tended (my wife’s desire) and the fishing end would be allowed to more or less go natural (my desire). It’s worked out well. Cattails moved in gradually over several years. They can be invasive, so I do keep them in check. Then gradually two different types of reeds lined the edges. I like those.

IMG_4743

IMG_4746

IMG_4748

Like most things in life, I don’t appreciate the pond as much as I used to or should. But most nice evenings my wife and I still take walks around the pond, it’s still perfect for cooling off after a hot day, and we usually manage to get in a family skate day or two.

16 thoughts on “the pond

Leave a Reply

