greenies

Once the hard work’s done, the sweating and fretting, the planting and ranting, you can sit back and relax.  Or not.  That’s when the squatters move in.  The little green ones, setting up shop under your tender leaves.

There are two green wigglies that can seriously change the way I feel about the garden.

One is named something that I don’t remember, but how important is a name?  It’s a little green caterpillar, really tiny, that camouflages itself under the raspberry leaves, and can turn your patch into green lace.

IMG_4760

My solution is nothing fancy; I just walk the row, picking off the holey leaves and throwing them in the trash.  The raspberry bushes don’t mind.  More often than not, if you flip the picked leaves over and look closely, you’ll find the culprit.  I like this method because it’s free and pretty safe.

The other I’ve already written about a few times, and I do know its name; the cabbage looper.  I know I’m kind of a broken record, but when something works, it works.  Bt, Bacillus thuringiensis, is organic and dead-effective.  It pays back the ravenous little bastards for their gluttony by working on their guts, and only the guts of guilty green worms.

IMG_4761

I generally wait till I start to see a few holes (like above) and then diligently apply after ever rain or watering.  The pay-off is non-holey leaves, non-squishy surprises floating in the broccoli water, and a great feeling of justice.

8 thoughts on “greenies

  1. Loopers don’t normally pose as much of a problem for us; brassicas are a winter veggie down here. Do you apply hand-apply to specific plants, say, with a small spray bottle? Do you have any experience with Bt and, say, squash fly larva?

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s great that you don’t need to worry much about cabbage loopers Shannon. I envy you! And yes, I deliver the Bt in a 2 gallon sprayer.

      I don’t have experience using it for squash fly larvae, but I know it only works on worms that actually chew the leaves.

      Like

      • Then it probably wouldn’t help with squash fly. Their larva burrow through the thick stems, killing the plant before you even discover there’s a pest problem. It’s a conundrum.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

