out with the cauliflower, in with the corn

The last of the cauliflower came out yesterday. I think the chickens were a little intimidated by the pile of blue-green plopped in their midst. Meanwhile, with the business end of that cauliflower, my wife made an awesome cream-based soup that included carrots from the garden and ham.

IMG_5007

IMG_4992

This year’s harvests have been running two to three weeks behind last year’s. I’m not exactly sure why, but I suspect the cool late spring and soggy June. Luckily, sweet corn picked three weeks later than last year tastes exactly the same.

IMG_5008

18 thoughts on “out with the cauliflower, in with the corn

  1. I have a severe case of corn envy here! I won’t buy corn anymore unless it’s organic/non-GMO, and I can never find fresh corn on the cob that meets those requirements. Yours looks fabulous, and I can’t wait until next year when I can grow my own!

    Like

  2. they are great cauliflowers πŸ™‚ And your corn is so early! Mine are only just flowering and I would expect to pick them late August into September. We are having wet and cool weather right now which won’t be great for pollination so I hope I get a decent crop – you can’t beat home-grown corn eaten raw straight off the plants πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, I was happy with the cauliflower results this year. It’s always interesting to hear what’s happening for gardeners in a different part of the world. I think your wet, cool weather might be the hardest on the nerves. You can always add water. But it’s harder to add heat or take away moisture. Good luck with your corn!

      Like

Leave a Reply

