pickles and kraut

I lost a couple of cabbage plants early on to the wetness. Probably a blessing in disguise. While I love sauerkraut, we only eat so much of it during the course of a year, and this head should be just about right for a few pints.

IMG_5045

I bought a large airlock jar a few years back, and it works great for sauerkraut. It’s really simple; just shred the cabbage, mix in salt, cover it with brine after mashing it down, and wait for about three weeks. When it’s done, you can put it into canning jars and process it in a hot water bath for the recommended time.

IMG_5046

I think I’m zeroing in on my understanding of what I like in a pickle. I like canned dills. They’re preserved with vinegar, and that’s great. But what I love is the unprocessed, fresher-tasting kosher dills. No vinegar, just brine.

I tried a batch that went right into the fridge without sitting on the counter, and couldn’t stop eating them. With the newest batch, I’m going to let them sit on the counter for just two days, to see what that does to the flavor.

IMG_5049

the pickles get weighted down with that little plate at the bottom of the picture to keep them under the brine

I really can’t wait. Eight cloves of my Chesnok red garlic, peppercorns, bay leaves, hot pepper flakes, coriander seed, mustard seed and fresh dill. I have to stop typing because I’m drooling on my iPad.

And finally, the chickens got to finish off the harvested cabbage plant and take a bath in the garden.

13 thoughts on “pickles and kraut

    • I know what you mean Deby. I tried it for the first time last year with the air lock fermenting lid, and it was really good. I’m hoping for the same this year šŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

    • Haha, thanks Julie! Last year seemed to be a mbetter year for lots of things for me, and cabbage was one of them. But I do appreciate having a little less to deal with šŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I am salivating over those pickles and the THOUGHT of sauerkraut. No time for canning, but we do make ‘quick pickles’ for the fridge. We ate the rest of our garden cukes as pickles yesterday. So sad. šŸ˜¦

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

