raspberry puree, the kind you find in a second hand store

I think I just experienced a Prince moment.

During the soul-sucking winter months, with garden related activities next to impossible to find, I took to collecting used Starbucks coffee grounds. A good portion of the grounds went on the compost pile, but I saved some for a liberal application on our raspberry patch.

IMG_5240

It looks like the berries like their caffeine buzz (I know…it’s probably the nitrogen, but stop being critical and play along).

Yesterday I picked another pound of raspberries. You can only eat so many fresh.

IMG_5241

The thought of fruit leather has intrigued me for a few years, but previous attempts at making it ended with a scorched, not particularly inviting product.

Back into the breach. I tried a 170Ā° oven instead of a food dehydrator this year and it worked. Just added some lemon juice and sugar to the food processor-mashed berries, poured the stuff onto parchment paper and baked for about 3 hours. Dee-lightful.

IMG_5242

Then you can just cut the berry leather, parchment and all, into strips and roll them up for storing.

The only thing I’d change is to spring for a fine sieve. The holes in our sieve are big enough to let small seeds through. There are a lot of hiding places in a set of teeth.

7 thoughts on “raspberry puree, the kind you find in a second hand store

  1. That looks delicious. I love raspberries and their kin but hate the seeds. When I’ve tried sieving them it seems like too much pulp gets left behind so I think the fine sieve is too fine. A seedless raspberry would be perfect!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wonderful Dan. I would say your raspberries were incredibly appreciative of that coffee with or without milk! LOL .. Sounds like a small sieve is needed. I pruned way too heavily last year – no raspberries for me šŸ˜€

    Like

Leave a Reply

